Find an item mentioned in Jan’s column

Looking for a plant or product you read about in one of Jan’s recent garden columns?

Start by asking at your local nursery or garden center if they can get it for you.  For a free plant-finder service, see http://plantinfo.umn.edu.  Here’s additional help:

Native sedges (Carex)
Nebraska Statewide Arboretum (www.plantnebraska.org)
Prairie Moon Nursery (866/417-8156,  www.prairiemoon.com)
Prairie Nursery, (800/476-9453, www.prairienursery.com)

 Ornamental grasses:
Fall-blooming feather reed grass (Calamagrostis brachytricha), ‘Blue Paradise’ little blue stem (Schizachyrium scoparium):
Bluestone Perennials: 800/852-5243,
   www.bluestoneperennials.com

‘Blackhawk’ big bluestem (Andropogon gerardii):
Plant Delights (919/772-4794, www.plantdelights.com

 Shrubs for winter interest:
Dogwood-red-stem-with-yew2Golden Mop false cypress (Chamaecyparis pisifera): widely available at nurseries,
garden centers, and box stores, sometimes labeled as Golden Mops

Flame willow (Salix ‘Flame’): Nature Hills Nursery (888/861-7663),
www.naturehills.com)

Baton Rouge™ tartarian dogwood (Cornus alba ‘Minbat’)
Ask your garden center to order from Bailey Nurseries
Arctic Sun™ dogwood (Cornus sanguinea):
Proven Winners (www.provenwinners.com to find a retailer or buy on line)

Winterberries (Ilex verticillata) Berry Poppins®, ‘Berry Heavy® Gold,
Mr.  Poppins™ male pollinator:
Proven Winners (www.provenwinners.com to find a retailer or buy on line) 

Bee-friendly native plants that never need spraying:
Mountain mint (Pycnanthemum virginianum) and
Great blue lobelia (L. siphilitica)
Prairie Moon Nursery (866/417-8156,  www.prairiemoon.com)
Prairie Nursery (800/476-9453, www.prairienursery.com)

Jalafuego jalapeno and Roulette habanero hot pepper seeds
Jung Seed (800/247-5864, www.jungseed.com)

Honeyberries (Haskaps)
Hartmann’s Plantation 269/253-4281, https://hartmannsplantcompany.com)
Indiana Berry & Plant Co. (800/295-2226, www.IndianaBerry.com)
Proven Winners ColorChoice shrubs (www.provenwinners.com) 

Belgian endive (witloof chicory):
Johnny’s Selected Seeds (877/564-6697, www.Johnnyseeds.com)

Autumn-blooming perennials:
Monkshood (Aconitum carmichaelii), toad lily (Tricyrtis)
Digging Dog Nursery (707/973-1130, www.diggingdog.com)

White wood aster (Eurybia divaricata), bottle gentian (Gentiana andrewsii)
Prairie Moon Nursery (866/417-8156,  www.prairiemoon.com)
Prairie Nursery (800/476-9453, www.prairienursery.com)

Organic grub control for lawns
St. Gabriel Organics (540/672-0052), www.stgabrielorganics.com): store locator
and online sales for Milky Spore
Arbico Organics (800/827-2847, www.arbico-organics.com): beneficial nematodes