Find an item mentioned in Jan’s column

Looking for a plant or product you read about in one of Jan’s recent garden columns?

Start by asking at your local nursery or garden center if they can get it for you.  For a free plant-finder service, see http://plantinfo.umn.edu.  Here’s additional help:

Shrubs for winter interest:
Golden Mop false cypress (Chamaecyparis pisifera): widely available at nurseries,  garden centers, and box stores, sometimes labeled as Golden Mops
Flame willow (Salix ‘Flame’): Nature Hills Nursery (888/861-7663),  www.naturehills.com)Baton Rouge™ tartarian dogwood (Cornus alba ‘Minbat’)
Ask your garden center to order from Bailey Nurseries
Arctic Sun™ dogwood (Cornus sanguinea):
Proven Winners (www.provenwinners.com to find a retailer or buy on line)
Winterberries (Ilex verticillata) Berry Poppins®, ‘Berry Heavy® Gold, Mr.  Poppins™ male pollinator:
Proven Winners (www.provenwinners.com to find a retailer or buy on line)

 

Ornamental grasses:
Fall-blooming feather reed grass (Calamagrostis brachytricha), ‘Blue Paradise’  little blue stem (Schizachyrium scoparium):
Bluestone Perennials: 800/852-5243, www.bluestoneperennials.com
‘Blackhawk’ big bluestem (Andropogon gerardii):
Plant Delights (919/772-4794, www.plantdelights.com

Belgian endive (witloof chicory):
Johnny’s Selected Seeds (877/564-6697, www.Johnnyseeds.com

Ground covers for prairie:
prairie smoke (Geum triflorum), purple poppy mallow (Callirhoe involucrata), wild petunia (Ruellia humilis), June grass (Koeleria macrantha), and purple   lovegrass (Eragrostis spectabilis):
Prairie Moon Nursery (866/417-8156,  www.prairiemoon.com)
Prairie Nursery (800/476-9453, www.prairienursery.com)
Prairie sagewort (Artemisia frigida): Richters Herbs (905/640-6677,  www.richters.com)

 

Autumn-blooming perennials:
White wood aster (Eurybia divaricata), bottle gentian (Gentiana andrewsii)
Prairie Moon Nursery (866/417-8156,  www.prairiemoon.com)
Prairie Nursery (800/476-9453, www.prairienursery.com)
Monkshood (Aconitum carmichaelii), toad lily (Tricyrtis)
Digging Dog Nursery (707/973-1130, www.diggingdog.com)

Honeyberries (Haskaps)
Hartmann’s Plantation 269/253-4281, https://hartmannsplantcompany.com)
Indiana Berry & Plant Co. (800/295-2226, www.IndianaBerry.com)
Proven Winners ColorChoice shrubs (www.provenwinners.com)

Native sedges (Carex)
Nebraska Statewide Arboretum (www.plantnebraska.org)
Prairie Moon Nursery (866/417-8156,  www.prairiemoon.com)
Prairie Nursery, (800/476-9453, www.prairienursery.com)

Organic grub control for lawns
St. Gabriel Organics (540/672-0052), www.stgabrielorganics.com): store locator   and online sales for Milky Spore
Arbico Organics (800/827-2847, www.arbico-organics.com): beneficial nematodes

Berries
Prime-Jim, Prime-Jan and Illini Hardy blackberries:
Indiana Berry & Plant Co., 800/295-2226, www.inberry.com
Heritage fall-bearing raspberries widely available at local nurseries.
Also mail-order catalogs, including Indiana Berry & Plant Co., listed above.
Tristar and Tribute day-neutral strawberries widely available at local nurseries.
Also mail-order catalogs, including Indiana Berry & Plant Co., listed above.
Alpine strawberry seeds:  Renee’s Garden Seeds (888/880-7228,  www.reneesgarden.com)Gooseberries and currants:
Indiana Berry & Plant Co., listed above.
Raintree Nursery (800/391-8892, www.raintreenursery.com)

Milkweed (Asclepias)
Ion Exchange (563/535-7231, www.ionxchange.com)
Prairie Moon Nursery (866/417-8156,  www.prairiemoon.com)
Prairie Nursery (800/476-9453, www.prairienursery.com)