Find an item mentioned in Jan’s column

Looking for a plant or product you read about in one of Jan’s recent garden columns? Start by asking at your local nursery or garden center if they can get it for you.  For a free plant-finder service, see http://plantinfo.umn.edu.  Here’s additional help:

Vines:
Virgin’s bower (Clematis virginiana)
Prairie Moon Nursery (866/417-8156,  www.prairiemoon.com)
Prairie Nursery (800/476-9453, www.prairienursery.com)Virgin's bower

Kintzley’s Ghost grape honeysuckle (Lonicera reticulata ‘Kintzley’s Ghost’)
High Country Gardens (800/925-9387,
www.highcountrygardens.com)

First Editions® Above and Beyond™ climbing rose
Ask your garden center to order from Bailey Nurseries

Summer Shandy™ hop (Humulus ‘Sumner’)
Proven Winners (www.provenwinners.com to find a retailer or buy on line)

Ground covers for prairie:

Prairie smoke (Geum triflorum), purple poppy mallow (Callirhoe involucrata),  wild petunia (Ruellia humilis), June grass (Koeleria macrantha), and purple  lovegrass (Eragrostis spectabilis):

Prairie Moon Nursery (866/417-8156,  www.prairiemoon.com)

Prairie Nursery (800/476-9453, www.prairienursery.com)

Prairie sagewort (Artemisia frigida):
Richters Herbs (905/640-6677, www.richters.com)

Honeyberries (Haskaps)
Hartmann’s Plantation 269/253-4281, https://hartmannsplantcompany.com)
Indiana Berry & Plant Co. (800/295-2226, www.IndianaBerry.com)
Proven Winners ColorChoice shrubs (www.provenwinners.com)

Shrubs for winter interest:
Golden Mop false cypress (Chamaecyparis pisifera): widely available at nurseries, garden centers, and box stores, sometimes labeled as Golden Mops

Flame willow (Salix ‘Flame’):
Nature Hills Nursery (888/861-7663), www.naturehills.com)

Dogwood-red-stem-with-yew2Baton Rouge™ tartarian dogwood (Cornus alba ‘Minbat’)
Ask your garden center to order from Bailey Nurseries

Arctic Sun™ dogwood (Cornus sanguinea):
Proven Winners (www.provenwinners.com to find a retailer or buy on line)

 

 

 

Winterberries (Ilex verticillata) Berry Poppins®, ‘Berry Heavy® Gold, Mr. Poppins™ male pollinator:
Proven Winners (www.provenwinners.com to find a retailer or buy on line)

Native sedges (Carex)
Nebraska Statewide Arboretum (http://arboretum.unl.edu)
Prairie Moon Nursery (866/417-8156,  www.prairiemoon.com)
Prairie Nursery, (800/476-9453, www.prairienursery.com)

Organic grub control for lawns
St. Gabriel Organics (540/672-0052), www.stgabrielorganics.com): store locator
and online sales for Milky Spore

Arbico Organics (800/827-2847, www.arbico-organics.com): beneficial nematodes

Berries
Prime-Jim, Prime-Jan and Illini Hardy blackberries:
Indiana Berry & Plant Co., 800/295-2226, www.inberry.com.

Heritage fall-bearing raspberries widely available at local nurseries. Also mail-order catalogs, including Indiana Berry & Plant Co., listed above.

Tristar and Tribute day-neutral strawberries widely available at local nurseries. Also mail-order catalogs, including Indiana Berry & Plant Co., listed above.

Alpine strawberry seeds:
Renee’s Garden Seeds (888/880-7228, www.reneesgarden.com)

Gooseberries and currants:
Indiana Berry & Plant Co., listed above.
Raintree Nursery (800/391-8892, www.raintreenursery.com)

Italian climbing summer squash
Rampicante: Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds (www.rareseeds.com)
Trombetta: Renee’s Garden Seeds (888/880-7228, www.reneesgarden.com)
Tromboncino: Territorial Seed Company (800/626-0866, www.territorialseed.com)

 

Batavian or summer crisp lettuces

Johnny’s Selected Seeds (877/564-6697, www.johnnyseeds.com)
Renee’s Garden Seeds (888/880-7228, www.reneesgarden.com)

Evergreens for wet clay
Eastern arborvitae (Thuja occidentalis), western arborvitae (Thuja plicata), and
white spruce (Picea glauca) are widely available at garden centers

Black spruce (Picea mariana) and Atlantic white cedar (Chamaecyparis thyoides)
from Forest Farm (541/846-7269, www.forestfarm.com).

Milkweed (Asclepias)
Ion Exchange (563/535-7231, www.ionxchange.com)
Prairie Moon Nursery (866/417-8156,  www.prairiemoon.com)
Prairie Nursery (800/476-9453, www.prairienursery.com)

Hardy Grapes for the Midwest Swenson Red, Edelweiss, Reliance:
Jung Seed, 800/247-5864, www.jungseed.com

Malabar spinach
Johnny’s Selected Seeds (877/564-6697, www.johnnyseeds.com)
Park Seed (800/845-3369, www.parkseed.com)
Seed Savers Exchange (563/382-5990, www.seedsavers.org).

Dwarf Fruit Trees
Mail-order source for dwarf fruit trees with information on selecting rootstocks:
Raintree Nursery (800/391-8892, www.raintreenursery.com)

Fabric Grow Bags
Gardener’s Supply Company (www.gardeners.com, 800-876-5520)
Paradigm Gardens (www.paradigmgardens.com, 877-526-8481)

Floating Row Covers
Available at most garden centers. Mail-order catalogs with a variety of different types:
Peaceful Valley Farm & Garden Supply (888/784-1722, www.GrowOrganic.com)
Territorial Seed Company (800/626/0866, www.territorialseed.com)