Find an item mentioned in Jan’s column

Looking for a plant or product you read about in one of Jan’s recent garden columns?

Start by asking at your local nursery or garden center if they can get it for you.  For a free plant-finder service, see http://plantinfo.umn.edu.  Here’s additional help:

 Black Raspberries:
Ohio’s Treasure: Hartmann’s Plant Comp. (269/253-4281,
www.hartmannsplantcompany.com)
Niwot: Indiana Berry Co. (800/295-2226, www.indianaberry.com)

Cheyenne Spirit coneflower seeds:
Johnny’s Selected Seeds (877/564-6697, www.johnnyseeds.com)

Harris Seeds (800/544-7938, www.harrisseeds.com).

 

Joel, Joy, and/or Jan Sour Cherry Bushes:
Indiana Berry Co. (800/295-2226, www.indianaberry.com)
Edible Landscaping (434/361-9134, www.ediblelandscaping.com)
One Green World (877/353-4028, www.onegreenworld.com)

Carmine Jewel Sweet Cherry Bush:
Edible Landscaping (434/361-9134, www.ediblelandscaping.com)
Gurneys (513/354-1492, www.Gurneys.com)

Scallions Delicious Duo
Renee’s Garden (www.reneesgarden.com)

Impatiens Resistant to Downy Mildew
New Guinea and SunPatiens: Widely available wherever bedding plants are sold
Beacon: Burpee Seeds (800/888-1447, www.burpee.com)
Bounce: Monrovia (https://plants.monrovia.com)

 Artwork, Bellstar, and De Cicco broccoli
  (varieties which produce generous side shoots):
Jung Seed (800/247-5864, www.jungsed.com)

 Unusual veggies
Orach, ground cherries, tomatillos,
cucamelons (Mexican sour gherkin):
Territorial Seed Company (800/626-0866, www.Territorial Seed.com)
All of the above, plus Hamburg parsley :
Baker Creek Heirlooms (417/924-8917, www.rareseeds.com)

Native Prairie Plants for variable site, wet and dry
For shade: jack-in-the-pulpit, bloodroot, goat’s beard
Partial shade: Marsh phlox, pottle gentian
Full sun: rose mallow, swamp milkweed, boltonia
Wherever Midwest prairie plants are sold. Also:
Prairie Moon Nursery (866/417-8156,  www.prairiemoon.com)
Prairie Nursery, (800/476-9453, www.prairienursery.com)

Native sedges (Carex)
Nebraska Statewide Arboretum (www.plantnebraska.org)
Prairie Moon Nursery (866/417-8156,  www.prairiemoon.com)
Prairie Nursery, (800/476-9453, www.prairienursery.com)

 Shrubs for winter interest:
Golden Mop false cypress (Chamaecyparis pisifera): widely available at Dogwood-red-stem-with-yew2nurseries,  garden centers, and box stores, sometimes labeled as Golden Mops
Flame willow (Salix ‘Flame’): Nature Hills Nursery (888/861-7663),
www.naturehills.com)
Baton Rouge™ tartarian dogwood (Cornus alba ‘Minbat’)
Ask your garden center to order from Bailey Nurseries
Arctic Sun™ dogwood (Cornus sanguinea):
Proven Winners (www.provenwinners.com to find a retailer or buy online
Winterberries (Ilex verticillata) Berry Poppins®, ‘Berry Heavy® Gold, Mr. Poppins™ male pollinator:
Proven Winners (www.provenwinners.com to find a retailer or buy online)

Carmen pepper seeds
Johnny’s Selected Seeds (877/564-6697, www.Johnnyseeds.com)
Jung Seed (800/247-5864, www.jungseed.com)
Park Seed (800/845-3369, www.parkseed.com)

 Honeyberries (Haskaps)
Hartmann’s Plantation 269/253-4281, https://hartmannsplantcompany.com)Indiana Berry & Plant Co. (800/295-2226, www.IndianaBerry.com)
Proven Winners ColorChoice shrubs (www.provenwinners.com)

 Belgian endive (witloof chicory):
Johnny’s Selected Seeds (877/564-6697, www.Johnnyseeds.com)

Autumn-blooming perennials:
Monkshood (Aconitum carmichaelii), toad lily (Tricyrtis)
Digging Dog Nursery (707/973-1130, www.diggingdog.com)

White wood aster (Eurybia divaricata), bottle gentian (Gentiana andrewsii)
Prairie Moon Nursery (866/417-8156,  www.prairiemoon.com)
Prairie Nursery (800/476-9453, www.prairienursery.com)

Organic grub control for lawns
St. Gabriel Organics (540/672-0052), www.stgabrielorganics.com): store locator
and online sales for Milky Spore
Arbico Organics (800/827-2847, www.arbico-organics.com): beneficial nematodes